Simpson Literary Project


Simpson Family Literary Prize

2019 Simpson Literary Prize

The Simpson Family Literary Prize recognizes annually a writer who has earned a distinguished reputation and the approbation and gratitude of readers. The Recipient receives a $50,000 award to encourage and support forthcoming work. The Longlist Finalists were selected from official submissions by publishers, agents, authors, and author representatives. The Shortlist Finalists are expected to be named in early March 2019 and will receive $2,000 for participating in the Literary Project, followed by a Winner in early April 2019. The Prize is funded by generous individuals as well as some altruistic family foundations and corporate donors, and it is administered by the Simpson Project.




Douglas Light

Sam Lipsyte

Valeria Luiselli

Ben Marcus

Lee Martin

Daniel Mason

Madeline Miller

Celeste Ng

Idra Novey

Sigrid Nunez

Helen Phillips

Anne Raeff

Shoba Rao

David Rocklin

Jess Row

Julie Schumacher

B. A. Shapiro

Tatjana Soli

Rene Steinke

Amor Towles

Laura van den Berg

Lidia Yuknavitch

Leni Zumas

Tom Barbash

Marie Benedict

Liam Callanan

Susan Choi

Charmaine Craig

Patrick deWitt

Leif Enger

Jonathan Evison

David Francis

Kim Fu

David Burr Gerrard

Lauren Groff

Dara Horn

Silas House

Maria Hummel

Laird Hunt

Mat Johnson

Tayari Jones

Katie Kitamura

Rachel Kushner

Laila Lalami

Ariel Lawhon

Chang-Rae Lee